Overview: Ending interactions
(Edify App)

Edify App > Queue > Interactions > Overview: Ending interactions (Edify App)

This article provides an overview of ending queue interactions in Edify App.

In this article

Overview

In Edify App, you can view important interaction details and customer information, like the customer’s email address, information regarding what is happening or has happened during the contact, and end the interaction all from the customer details tab of the interaction workspace. This article focuses on the process for ending the interaction.

Because Edify is very customizable, there are a few different ways that you can end an interaction. You can manually move the interaction to completion. Or, your user can be configured with a few automations that tells the system to move the interaction to completion for you. This allows you to complete the interaction in a few less steps.

Either way, it’s important to understand that the process for ending an interaction can look different for each user and each queue. The process is configured to best meet the needs of the queue and you, the queue user.

However, in the event that you are not able to resolve an interaction yourself, you can also return the interaction to the queue to be managed by another queue user instead of completing and closing the interaction entirely. If this happens, you can leave notes regarding the communication in either the dispositioning area of the customer details tab or by leaving a private message in the feed tab of the interaction for the next queue user to reference.

Returning an unresolved interaction to the queue

Sometimes you may not be able to resolve the customer’s issue yourself. In this event, you can return the interaction to the queue for a manager or another queue coworker to take ownership of and proceed with helping the customer.

In this scenario, send the interaction back to the queue by closing the interaction tab or by marking the interaction as “Close: Unresolved”. You can use either of these methods to return the interaction to the queue. When this happens, Edify unassigns you as the owner of the interaction and moves the interaction from ‘Connected’ status to ‘Open’ status. At this stage, the interaction stays in the queue until another queue user manually accepts, or ‘picks up’ the interaction by clicking on it. By manually accepting the interactions, Edify assigns you as the new owner of the interaction.

Close: Unresolved

  • Close: Unresolved: Use the Close: Unresolved button for interactions that aren’t ready to be wrapped up and completed. Clicking this button moves the interaction from “Connected” status to “Open” status, and also removes you from being the user assigned to the interaction. Once the interaction is opened by another queue user, the interaction is assigned to the new user, and the interaction changes back to ‘Connected’ status.

  • Close Interaction Tab: Click the close button on the tab of the interaction in-line with the Home list menu. By clicking this button, you are signaling to Edify that you are done working in that interaction and want to return it to the queue for another queue user to claim and manage. When clicking this button, the system prompts you with a modal to select if the interaction must be marked as Close: Resolved or Close: Unresolved. To leave the interaction open and return the queue, click the Close: Unresolved button.

Closing voice interactions automatically

Your user can be configured by your Edify admin to employ closing interaction automations. This means your setting can instruct Edify to move the interaction from one status to another status for you. The closing automation is triggered by a hang up event during the interaction, like when either you or the customer hangs up a phone call.

So, if your user is configured with a closing voice interactions automation, you don’t need to click either the Close: Resolved button or Close: Unresolved button to move the interaction from Connected status to another status, either Wrap Up or Completed. Instead, Edify automatically moves the interaction into the next status for you.

  • Wrap Up: The automation to move interactions to "Wrap Up" status affects only phone call interactions and can be configured on a user by user basis by your Edify admin. This option automatically moves the interaction from ‘Connected’ status to ‘Wrap Up’ status once the interaction’s call session has been terminated, which can be initiated by either you or the customer.

  • Completed: The automation to move interactions to ‘Completed’ status affects only phone call interactions and can be configured on a user by user basis by your Edify admin. This option automatically moves the interaction from ‘Connected’ status to ‘Completed’ status once the interaction’s call session has been terminated, which can be initiated by either you or the customer.

Moving an interaction to wrap up status

If your user isn’t configured with any closing automations, then you need to manually move the interaction from "Connected" status and onward yourself.


This means that when you’re done with the interaction, you need to manually click the Close: Resolved button to move the interaction from Connected status to "Wrap Up" status. Without the interaction closing automations, the Edify system doesn’t automatically move interactions into the next status for you.

Close: Resolved

Close: Resolved: Use the Close: Resolved button for interactions that don’t require any additional action. When selected, this option moves the interaction from “Connected” status to “Wrap Up” status. You can see that the interaction has moved to “Wrap Up” status because the text color changes from green to yellow on the interaction tab. Also, the interaction’s status is displayed to anyone viewing the queue activity table in Home List or monitoring team members in Team View. This can include your supervisor and/or any coworkers who are also working within the same queue as you.

Closing an interaction in Wrap Up status

If your user has been configured to automatically resolve phone call interactions, you may not need to execute any additional steps to complete the interaction.

Once an interaction moves from connected status to wrap up status, the interaction is then ready for dispositioning and completing other work to prepare for the next customer. This means that you have either an unlimited amount of time to prepare for the next customer or a specific amount of time to prepare. This amount of time is based on the settings of the queue hosting the interaction. This is a custom length of time and can vary from queue to queue.

Your queue can be configured to have a set time, a set time with an extender, or an unlimited amount of time for completing post-interaction work.

If there isn’t a set amount of time, then the interaction remains open until it’s manually closed.

However, if your queue has a set amount of time for dispositioning, then you'll see that a timer (Wrap Up Timer) automatically appears once the interaction is moved into wrap up status, and that timer counts down until it expires. Once the timer expires, Edify automatically closes the interaction for you.

Additionally, your queue can be configured to have a timer with a timer extender (Wrap Up Extend). In this scenario, you have access to extending the time available for preparing for the next interaction. There isn’t a limit to the number of times that you can extend the interaction’s wrap up time. But, be aware, that once the wrap up timer reaches 4 seconds or less, the extender disappears, and the interaction counts down until the timer expires.

No time limit

The no time limit option is where there isn’t a set time limit for dispositioning interactions in the queue. Because there is no timer, you must manually complete the interaction to release it from the queue.



Wrap Up timer

If the interaction only displays the wrap up timer button, then you have a set amount of time for completing post-interaction work for the interaction before Edify automatically closes it. You can’t add additional time to the wrap up time. When the timer expires, the interaction is moved to ‘completed’ status and removed from your screen.

Wrap Up timer + Wrap Up extend

If the interaction displays both the wrap up timer button and wrap up extend button combination, then your queue is configured with a specified time limit for completing post-interaction work for this interaction with the opportunity to add extra time to the counter if needed.

In this scenario, there are two buttons visible, one that shows the count down timer and one that adds a specified length of time to the counter. There is no limit to the number of times that you extend the timer. When the timer expires, the interaction is moved to ‘completed’ status and removed from your screen.