Overview: Interaction viewer controls (Edify App)

Edify App > Queue > Interactions > Overview: Interaction viewer controls (Edify App)

This article provides an overview of the interaction viewer controls available to a user viewing an interaction in Edify App.

In this article

Overview

In Edify App, queue users with appropriate permissions can view an interaction, join the phone call on an interaction, or take over another queue user’s interaction through the interaction viewer controls.

The interaction viewer controls at the top of the details tab allow you to listen to the call, speak on the call alongside others, or take ownership of the call.

With interaction viewer controls, you can monitor interactions for:

  • Quality assurance spot checking

  • Training

  • Coaching

  • And more

This article goes in-depth on how to view an interaction, claim an interaction, or use the interaction viewer controls.

View or claim an interaction

Queue users with appropriate permissions can view or claim an interaction from the Queue Home list (Queue > Home).

Viewing an interaction

To view an interaction, see the Action column in the Queue Home list. For each of the interactions in this list, there’s a dropdown menu with three symbols you can choose from.

The view symbols are a solid eye icon and a slashed eye icon.

Public view icon

Click to view interaction publicly

When you select the public view option, you'll begin viewing the interaction. The assigned user will be made aware that you are viewing with your user icon in the top-left corner of the interaction. The public view is useful when you want to coach and train the user while monitoring the interaction.

Private view icon

Click to view interaction privately

When you select the private view option, you'll begin viewing the interaction, but the assigned user will not be made aware that you are viewing. The private view is useful when you need to mainly “spot check” the interaction, like listen to the live call or read the chat transcription.

See the screenshot below for an example of where these icons appear in the Queue Home list.

When you select either of the view types from the Action menu, and then click on the interaction, you‘ll see the interaction workspace for that chosen interaction.

Perspectives while viewing voice interaction

Queue user’s perspective of being publicly viewed.

Notice that the manager’s profile picture appears above the interaction controls.

Queue user’s perspective of being privately viewed.

Notice that there is no indication that anyone is viewing the interaction.

Manager’s perspective of viewing the interaction (whether publicly or privately) when on a voice interaction.

Notice the manager has access to special viewing controls.

Once you’re viewing the interaction, you’ll have access to the viewer controls. These controls change based on the type of interaction that you’re viewing.

For example, this is showing what a viewer sees when they are viewing a voice interaction. Since there’s an active phone call happening, the viewer has access to joining the call to take a more active role in monitoring the interaction, like speaking to everyone on the call.

So, in this example, the viewer has the option to join the call by clicking the Join call button. Then, once the viewer joins the call, they’ll have the ability to use the other viewer controls.

For more information about reviewer controls, jump to the Viewer controls section below.

The Join call button on an interaction

Claiming an interaction

You can take ownership of an interaction to handle it yourself by using the claim option.

Claim icon

Click the claim option to take control of an interaction from the currently assigned queue user.

When you click the claim icon, you become the assigned user on the interaction. It gives you full ownership and control of the interaction.

This means you’ll have full access to managing all aspects of the interaction, like engaging with the customer directly, transferring the interaction and more. In short, you become the owner, or assigned user, to the interaction.

Additionally, this means that the previously assigned user is moved to public view and they can no longer engage with the customer directly or handle the interaction in other ways, like transfer it, leave notes, and more.

Note: Only one person can be the assigned user on an interaction at any given time.

Claiming an interaction

There are two ways to claim an interaction.

You can claim the interaction from Queue Home list by selecting the claim option from the Action menu. Or, if you’re already viewing the interaction, you can click the claim button in the viewer controls.

Claim an interaction from the Queue Home list.

Claim an interaction from the viewer controls.

Viewer controls

The viewer controls for a voice interaction allow you to either join the phone call that’s happening or to claim the interaction to take ownership of it.

For messaging interactions, you’ll only have access to claiming the interaction since there isn’t an active phone call happening for you to join.

Controls for a voice interaction

Controls for a messaging interaction (because there’s no phone call, the only control available is to take control of the interaction)

  • End listen (A): The End listen button allows you to stop listening to the phone call.

  • Mute (B): The Mute button allows you to control your voice line of the phone call. The system defaults to you being on mute when you first join the call. You can click this button to mute or unmute yourself. If you unmute yourself, you’ll be able to speak to the customer and anyone else that’s listening or talking on the phone call.

  • Claim (C): The Claim button allows you to take control of the interaction. You’ll be assigned as the new owner, and the previous owner will be moved to a public viewer.. Once you’ve claimed the interaction, you’ll have complete control over the interaction.

Private messaging

In addition to all of the tools mentioned above, interaction viewers have the ability to send private messages to queue users in the feed on an ongoing interaction.

Private messages are not visible to the customer. They are visible to every viewer in the interaction - public or private - and these messages are viewable once the interaction is completed.

A private message is a posted message to the feed tab by either an assigned user or a viewer during a live or completed interaction.

Users assigned to an interaction and viewers monitoring it can privately message each other to quickly and easily communicate to each other within the interaction itself.

This feature is most commonly used by viewers to provide real-time coaching and support while the interaction is in process and active to guide the queue user assigned to the interaction.

Private messages are useful for viewers when they need to support or coach their users. This is also an efficient way for the queue user handling the interaction that asks for help.

Note: Private messages are not delivered to the customer. They’re only visible to all viewers of the interaction.

You can tell if you’re sending a private message by the color of the text box. The text box will be yellow when you’re sending a private message and the button you press to post the message is a paper airplane icon.

All private messages posted to the feed are indicated by a lock icon to the right of the message.