Overview: Embedded workflow settings for queues (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Queues > Overview: Embedded workflow settings for queues (Edify Console)

This article describes the embedded workflow settings available for queues in Edify Console.

In this article

Overview

In Edify Console, the Embedded Workflows container within the Queue workspace is where you configure the ability for queue users to manually initiate a workflow during an active customer interaction or from a completed interaction. This means that when you add a workflow to this container, the workflow is accessible to users managing interactions in the queue, under the Run Workflows menu during a live interaction. Queue users can open this menu to review and select a workflow to run. A comparison of the Edify Console configuration and how it is reflected in Edify App is shown in the image below.

The workflows that you add to this container can include workflows that the users in this queue can use at any point while managing the interaction, including when the interaction is actively being managed as well as after the interaction has been completed.

The purpose of each embedded workflow varies. The actions vary based on the needs of the queue user and the queue. Here are a few examples of the types of embedded workflows that you can add to a queue.

  • Customer notification message - During post-call work (wrap up status), the queue user can run an embedded workflow that sends the customer an email notification which includes a link to a post-call survey, a link to tracking information, or any other relevant follow up information.

  • Start a scripted experience - During a live call (connected status), the queue user can start an embedded workflow that activates the script tab which includes a series of troubleshooting steps for the queue user to walk through with the customer while working through technical setup for a product.

  • Requesting help - After placing a customer on hold (hold status), or during a live call, the queue user can start an embedded workflow that alerts one or several people, like managers and/or a team lead, via a chat message, text message or other communication channel. This notification serves to notify others that assistance is needed by a user actively managing an interaction.

In short, there are many types of embedded workflows that you can make use of. Also, there currently isn’t a limit to the number of workflows that you can configure to this container.

Visual breakdown

  • Name (A): The Name field is where you enter a name for the workflow you are embedding into the interactions managed within the selected queue. Enter a name that clearly identifies the purpose of this workflow because it’s the title the queue user sees in the Run Workflow menu while working in an interaction.

  • Workflow (B): The Workflow menu is where you select the title of the published workflow that you want to run when the queue user selects this workflow option from the Run Workflow menu while working in an interaction.

  • Version (C): The Version menu is where you select the specific version of the defined workflow that runs when the queue user selects the corresponding workflow from the Run Workflow menu while working in an interaction. When “CURRENT” is selected here, the system knows to run the version that is assigned as such; this means that when the workflow is updated, as long as it is made current, the correct workflow runs without needing to update this container. Otherwise, select the specific version of the workflow that you want to run for the queue user when called upon.

  • Type (D): The Type menu allows you to define when you want the workflow to be available. Specifically, this allows you to define if the workflow is available to the queue user during an interaction currently in progress and being managed by a queue user or during an interaction that has already been completed. The menu options here include ‘Active’ (live interactions) and ‘Completed’ (interactions that have been closed).

  • Delete Button (E): The delete button removes an Embedded Workflow from the selected queue. By deleting this line, queue users in this queue can no longer see the workflow as an available option within the Run Workflow menu while on an active interaction.

  • Add Workflow Button (F): This button adds another line item to the list for you to configure another Embedded Workflow. This new line includes a Name field, Workflow menu, Workflow Version menu, and Delete button.