Overview: Timed workflows for queues (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Queues > Overview: Timed workflows for queues (Edify Console)

This article describes the timed workflows functionality available for queues in Edify Console.

In this article

Overview

In Edify Console, the Timed Workflows container located within the Queue workspace is where you connect published workflows meant to run at specific times to the selected queue. Timed workflows help you define how customers experience the process while waiting to be connected to a queue user.

You can define one or many workflows to run at specific time intervals of the customer’s wait time, which may or may not involve the customer. These workflows can serve different functions based on the needs of your business. So, once you have published and connected a timed workflow to a queue, customer interactions experience the workflow processes configured to that queue.

There currently isn’t a limit to the number of timed workflows that you can add to a queue. And the function of each timed workflow varies. So, you can have one or a few timed workflows connected to a queue.

Common use cases for timed workflows

Here are a few use cases for triggering timed workflows while a customer waits for a queue user. You can configure one or more of these examples:

  • Looping announcement - For voice interactions, every 45 seconds of wait time, trigger a looping announcement, like “Your call is important to us, please stay on the line for the next available agent.” or “Did you know that you could make account updates online through our website? Visit My Portal to check your account balance and more.”

  • Callback experience - For voice interactions, every 60 seconds of wait time, give the customer the option to request a callback.

  • Manager alerts - For voice calls, after 180 seconds of wait time, send an SMS alert to the Edify queue manager of this queue, notifying them that a customer has been waiting for three minutes to be connected to a queue user in the queue.

Ultimately, timed workflows help enhance the waiting experience for customers entering into a queue.

Timed workflows vs. maximum wait time vs. no available agents

Timed workflows are different from the maximum wait experience. If you have configured the Max Wait container for this queue, it’s important to compare the times defined in both the Max Wait and Timed Workflows containers. If you have a max wait time of 60 seconds, and a timed workflow set to run at 180 seconds, then the interaction always goes through the Max Wait experience before the Timed Workflow because the interaction never reaches the defined 180 seconds of wait time.

So, ensure that the times defined in these containers do not conflict with each other. It’s valuable to note that if there are no queue users available in the selected queue then the Exit No Agents experience is activated first before both the Timed Workflows and Max Wait configurations are taken into account.

Visual breakdown

  • Looping toggle (A): The Looping toggle is where you define whether all of the configured workflows repeat themselves at the defined time interval, which is measured in seconds.

      • Enabled - When enabled, this toggle alerts Edify to repeat all of the configured, timed workflows at the defined time intervals until a queue user becomes available and accepts the interaction or until the interaction reaches max wait, if there’s a max wait set for the queue.

      • Disabled - When disabled, this toggle alerts Edify to run the timed workflow at the interval defined under the Time (SEC.) column. After the workflow(s) has run once, it does not run again.

  • Workflow (B): The Workflow menu is where you select the timed workflow to connect to this queue.

  • Version (C): The Version menu is where you define the workflow version that’s connected to this queue. You can select a specific version of the workflow or select “CURRENT.” Selecting the current version means Edify always runs the current version of the workflow regardless of its publish date or order.

  • Time (SEC.) (D): The Time (SEC) field is where you define the time interval for running the workflow as the customer waits for an available agent. If the Looping toggle is enabled, then the customer experiences the workflow at the specified time interval, is then entered back into waiting after the workflow completes, then the time interval begins again. For example, you have connected a timed workflow that takes 15 seconds to run to completion and set the Time(SEC.) interval to 30 seconds with the Looping toggle enabled. When the customer reaches this queue, they first wait for 30 seconds to be connected to an agent, then they go through the 15 second workflow experience, and lastly they are entered back into waiting where they wait for 30 seconds again before the workflow runs again. So, the workflows run based on time in waiting and does not include the time that a customer is involved in a workflow experience.

  • Rippable (E): The Rippable toggle is where you define how Edify manages the interaction during the workflow if a queue user becomes available while the customer is actively experiencing a Timed Workflow experience.

      • Enabled - When enabled, this toggle gives Edify the ability to pull the customer out of a Timed Workflow experience when a queue user becomes available. This means that Edify can interrupt the running workflow to connect the customer with a queue user. This is useful when you have Timed Workflows that play audio clips, or, announcements. It is not recommended to enable this setting if you have workflows that function to redirect the customer like requesting a callback or transferring to another queue.

      • Disabled - When disabled, Edify can’t pull a waiting interaction out of the running Timed Workflow. This means that the customer must wait for the workflow to run to completion before being able to connect an available queue user.

  • Delete (F): The delete button allows you to remove a previously configured workflow from the container. By clicking this button, you are removing the entire line of workflow data from the container and, additionally, from the customer's experience when engaging with this queue.

  • +Add (G): The +Add button allows you to add additional workflows to the Timed Workflows container. Clicking this button populates an additional Workflow menu, Version menu, Time (Sec.) field, Rippable toggle, and delete button for you to configure.