Overview: Publishing a workflow (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Workflows > Overview: Publishing a workflow (Edify Console)

This article explains the concept of publishing a workflow, which is a concept of Workflows.

In this article

Overview

Once you’ve built the workflow and ensured each workflow branch has an end point, it’s time to publish it.

Publishing a workflow locks it from any future changes. So, you can’t modify a published workflow. You can also not unpublish a workflow. Once a workflow is published, it will always be published.

To modify a workflow, you can either duplicate it to make a copy that you continue on with or duplicate it to make a new version.

There are two ways to publish a workflow. The two ways to publish a workflow include: Publish and Publish - Make Current

  • Publish: The Publish button locks the workflow from any additional changes. You need to publish a workflow if you want to route it for testing, too.

  • Publish - Make Current: The Publish + Current button acts similarly to the Publish button in that it locks the workflow version from any further modification, and it makes it available for testing and using. Also, this button makes the selected version the Current - Published version on your account. So, anywhere in your account that you have configured to use the current version of the workflow, this version is immediately and automatically updated in all of those instances. So, this button completes two tasks:

      • Publishes the workflow and locks it from any future changes, making it available to view only.

      • Activates this version to make it the new Current - Published version. Interactions that were routed to the old version now route through this current one.

Once you publish a workflow, you can make it the current version at any point.