Overview: Workflows editor workspace (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Workflows > Overview: Workflows editor workspace (Edify Console)

This article explains the editor workspace, which is one of the main workspaces of Workflows in Edify Console.

In this article

Overview

Once you create a new workflow, it’s time to build it. The editor workspace is where you build the workflow’s logic.

This workspace consists of the Workflows module library, workflows Settings panel, the editor itself, and more. The editor is where you use drag-and-drop functionality to add, configure, and link together modules to build a workflow. This workflow could be one or several branches depending on its complexity. From this workspace you can then publish the workflow to make it active and available for testing.

You can also duplicate the workflow to start a new, blank version of it; or, copy it to make a separate, editable version of it to continue iterating on it. You can create an unlimited number of versions for a workflow.

In short, the editor workspace is where you build, publish, or duplicate an unpublished workflow.

Building basics for workflows

Starting a workflow

Each workflow has a starting point. Once a workflow is created, the Start module automatically populates onto the editor. This is the starting point of the workflow. From there, you can build upon the workflow’s logic by adding and linking together modules, beginning with the Start module and moving downward.

Ending a workflow

Each workflow branch needs an ending point. This tells the system when to terminate the workflow session. Otherwise, the workflow session stays active. This means that before you can publish a workflow, you first need to confirm that each branch of the workflow is complete.

The endpoint tells Hammond when the flow of the branch is complete and when the workflow session is over. Once you’ve finished building the workflow’s logic, and each workflow branch has an endpoint, it’s time to publish, route, and test the workflow to ensure it behaves as expected.

Module library: Manipulating and configuring workflow modules

After adding a module from the Workflows module library onto the editor, double click it to open it. The configuration workspace for a module is where you set one or more actions that Hammond executes when he reaches this point in the workflow.

Some modules are very complex. So, they could have lots of fields and toggles to configure. Other modules complete one action, so you won’t have as many settings to configure.

Below are all of the common actions that you’ll take when manipulating workflow modules in the editor.

  • Add modules from module library to the editor: Add modules to the editor from the Workflow modules library to include them in your workflow. Do this by clicking and dragging each module you need from the module library and dropping them onto the editor. If you know the name of the module you are looking for, the module library search bar is useful for finding the exact module you need.

  • Open and configure modules: Once a module is added to the workspace, double click to open and configure its settings. Each module is different and varies in complexity. So, you might have one, none, or several settings available to customize the module to function as you need.

  • Arrange modules: After adding a module to the editor, click and drag it around to move it around the editor to place it where you need it.

  • Link modules together: Connect modules together by clicking and dragging a link between them. This creates a branch within the workflow.

  • Delete objects from the editor: At times, you might add a module or link to the editor that you don’t need or realize you want to remove. To remove a module or link, select the object that you want to remove and press the Delete key on your keyboard. This removes it from the editor.

  • End a workflow branch: Each workflow branch needs a satisfying endpoint. The endpoint is what tells Hammond to terminate the workflow session. If a workflow branch doesn't have a defined endpoint, the workflow session continues to run. A workflow branch reaches an endpoint when one of these modules is the final module in the branch: Transfer module or End module.

  • Publish the workflow: When you’ve ended each workflow branch and you’re ready to lock the workflow from other changes, it’s time to publish it. There are two ways to publish: Publish or Publish+Make Current.

  • Duplicate the workflow to make a new version: If you need to make a new version of the workflow, you can duplicate it. When you duplicate it, this creates an editable copy of the workflow version. You can then continue to add, remove or make other modifications to the workflow logic.

  • Modify workflow settings: The Settings panel is where you update workflow’s settings. The setting details that are available in this menu include: the workflow’s name, date stamp for when the workflow version was created, default voice settings for when Hammond uses text-to-speech capabilities, and more.

Visual breakdown

Below is the editor workspace. Explore this visual breakdown to learn more about the important features available to you when you’re in this workspace.

Editor workspace - banner

  • Workflow version menu (A): The workflow version menu is where you select the workflow version that you want to see. This menu includes all versions of the workflow. These versions can be published or unpublished workflows. If the workflow version is published, the workflow name will include ‘Published’ in it. Also, if the published workflow is the current workflow version, then the workflow will include ‘Current-Published’ in the name.

  • Publish + Current: The Publish+Current button allows you to publish the workflow to lock it from any future changes. This also makes this the current workflow version that’s running in all instances where the workflow version is routing to ‘Current’.

  • Duplicate: The Duplicate button is how you create an editable copy of this workflow version that you’re currently viewing. Once you click the Duplicate button, you’ll then decide if you want to create a new, blank workflow version or to copy this version to continue building upon it.

  • Settings (B): The settings menu (vertical tri dot icon) is located in the top right corner of the editor. This is where you access details about the workflow, like the date for when it was created, the workflow’s title, and more. This is also where the Publish button is located.

Editor workspace - editor

  • Module library (A): The module library includes the module search field and it displays all of the available modules you can use to build a workflow. These modules are broken into four broad categories: Engagement, Manipulating Data, External Communication, and Analyzing Data.

  • Module (B): Any module that you add to the workspace is considered an active module. There isn’t a limit to the number of modules you can add to the workspace, but it’s important that all of your active modules are configured appropriately. Each module has different configurable settings, so double click on the module to open and configure it.

  • Module link (C): A module link is the connecting line between active modules that builds pathways from one module to the next. There can only be one link per exit port on a module, but there can be many links connected to an entry port. Ensure that all of your workflow pathways are complete with the necessary module links so that your workflow sessions do not get stuck before reaching the end of the workflow. When attempting to publish a workflow that is missing module links, Huddle prompts an error message to warn you that there is an issue with your workflow.

  • Port: The port of a module is where data either enters or exits the module. So, there are ports at the top and bottom of the module.

    • Entry port (D): The entry port is located on the top of the module and serves as the entrance into an active module. There is no limit to the number of module links connected to an entry port.

    • Exit port (E): The exit port serves as the exit point(s) leading from one active module to another. Each module has different configurations, so the number of exit ports per module varies. For linking modules together, there can only be one link per exit port.

  • Map button (F): The map button opens and closes the workflow map tools to look more closely at the workflow. Click the map button to open the map tools. The map tools include zooming and search features to more easily look around the published workflow.