Overview: Workflows view workspace (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Workflows > Overview: Workflows view workspace (Edify Console)

This article explains the view workspace, which is one of the main workspaces of Workflows in Edify Console.

In this article

Overview

The view workspace is where you look over published workflows to better understand how the workflow is set up.

When you select a published workflow from the list workspace, the system directs you to the view workspace. This is where you can look over and examine the workflow’s set up. Once a workflow is published, you can’t make any changes to it. This means it’s locked from any adding, removing, or editing. Instead, it’s ready to be used, reviewed, or duplicated, which is useful when using the existing workflow structure as a starting point for a new version.

If you need to update a published workflow, you’ll need to duplicate it. After duplicating the workflow, the system then directs you to the editor workspace. The editor is where you can build upon the workflow or start over to build the workflow from scratch.

Some other key features of the view workspace for Workflows is the search and map. These features help you easily move around large workflows to zoom in and out of specific sections of it. This is helpful to get a better look at specific parts of the workflow.

Working in the view workspace of Workflows

While working in the view workspace, here’s a list of actions you can take while viewing a published workflow:

  • Duplicate the workflow: Duplicate a published workflow version to create a new, blank version to start over or to copy this version to continue improving and iterating on it.

  • Make the version the current version: Make a published workflow version the current version of the workflow that’s actively running. This means that any activity that was routed to the old version is now routed through the new current version if it’s being routed to ‘Current’.

  • Toggle between workflow versions: Toggle between unpublished, published, and Current - Published versions of the workflow to view and compare them to see how they are different. This is helpful when you want to understand why one workflow functions a certain way compared to another.

  • Review and update some workflow settings: Look over the workflow’s settings. These settings include: when it was created, change it’s title, and see what voice type is being used if the workflow uses text-to-speech voice prompting. For scheduled workflow types, this is also where you can view and modify those settings, like view the last run time, initiate it to run now, or deactivate the workflow from running.

  • Look over the workflow’s logic: Analyze the logic, configurations, and flow of the workflow as it relates to each version and more. This is useful when you want to understand it, see where to improve it, mirror parts of it while working on another workflow, etc.

Again, you can’t make changes to the modules or the workflow itself when viewing a published workflow in the view workspace. Instead, it’s where you can review and learn more about the published workflow.

To make changes to a published workflow, you must duplicate the workflow version to create an editable copy. Then, you can improve upon it or create a new, blank workflow if you prefer to start over.

In short, the view workspace is where you can examine published workflows.

Trigger History for workflows with Say+Intent modules

For published workflows that use one or more Say+Intent modules, the view workspace is where you can analyze how each trigger is performing by reviewing its Trigger History panel.

To review the historical data for the trigger, double click the trigger module to open it.

This is where you see the number of times a word/phrase is collected for a specific trigger over a specific period of time. This is useful for quickly seeing how frequently an intent is collected. Then, compare this data to different time periods, different trigger modules, and more to see how it changes.

By looking over this data, you can quickly see which intents are common or uncommon, helping you improve the effectiveness and understand the overall performance of the workflow.

More specifically, this data is especially useful when analyzing the performance of the No Match trigger of a Say+Intent module. The history of the No Match module is where you quickly see which phrases are being processed as not matching any configured intents for this module. Review this data to see which intents are collected so you can better route these customers in the future. This can mean adding a new trigger, adding additional intents to an existing trigger, or creating an entirely new workflow.

Visual breakdown

Below is the view workspace. Explore each visual breakdown to learn more about the important features available to you when you’re navigating through this workspace.

View workspace: Published workflow

  • Make Current (A): This button makes the selected version the current version on your account. So, anywhere in your account that you have configured to use the Current - Published version of this workflow, then this version is immediately and automatically updated in all of those instances and becomes the active workflow that runs.

View workspace: Current - Published workflow

  • WORKFLOWS button (A): The WORKFLOWS button is how you return to the list workspace.

  • Folder name (B): This is the name of the folder that’s storing this workflow. Click the folder name to leave the view workspace and return to the folder.

  • Workflow title (C): This is the name of the workflow that you’re currently viewing.

  • Version Menu (D): The version menu is where you access the list of published and unpublished versions for this workflow.

  • Duplicate button (E): The Duplicate button is how you create a new, blank version or copy this version to continue adding to it.

  • Workflow settings (F): The workflow settings menu allows you to open the settings for the workflow. From the settings panel, you can modify the workflow’s title and configure default voice settings. If the workflow is a scheduled workflow type, then this is also where you can view when the workflow last ran and execute other actions, like: stop workflow from running, initiate it to run now and more. For unpublished workflows, this menu is where you can elect to publish a workflow instead of publishing and making current.

Workflow map tools on view workspace

Map tools closed
Map tools open
  • Map (A): The map button opens and closes the workflow map tools to look more closely at the workflow. Click the map button to open the map tools. The map tools include zooming and search features to more easily look around the published workflow.

  • Zoom out (B): The zoom out (-) button is how you zoom out on the workflow to see a broader and expanded view of it. Click this button to zoom out on the workflow to get a broader view of the included modules.

  • Zoom in (C): The zoom in (+) button is how you zoom in on the workflow to get a closer look of it. Click this button to zoom in on a specific cluster of included modules.

  • Search field (D): The Search field is where you quickly navigate to a specific module in the published workflow. Use this field to find and quickly move to a specific module. Once you use the search to find the module, the workflow moves to that module and highlights it for you. To find a module, type the module into the search and press Enter on your keyboard. That initiates the search.

  • Close map (E): The close (X) button is how you close the reviewer tools. Click this button to exit the reviewer tools panel.

Trigger History panel - for workflows with Say + Intent module(s)

  • Name (A): The name field is where you identify which trigger module’s history you’re reviewing. This field is read-only.

  • Filter (B): The Filter menu is where you define the time frame for the historical data you want to see. The menu options start as low as ‘Last Minute’ and range to as long as ‘Last 30 Days’ with several increments in between. This is the only area that you can manipulate when viewing the trigger’s settings.

  • Intents (C): The intents list displays all of the existing intents configured for the trigger. This list is read only. So, you can’t add or remove intent(s) from this list. To modify the intents, duplicate the workflow to create a new workflow version.

  • Phrase Count (D): The Phrase Count area displays the number of times a word/phrase was collected for this trigger. This information populates based on the Filter menu settings. In the example, Hammond collected the word ‘support’ as a stand alone word of ‘support’ a total of five times and within a phrase of ‘I need support’ a total of two times.