Overview: Workflows workspaces (Edify Console)

Edify Console > Workflows > Overview: Workflows workspaces (Edify Console)

This article explains the main workspaces of Workflows in Edify Console.

In this article

Overview

Workflows is the toolbox where you build and manage the workflows on your account. There are many workspaces in Workflows to make it easy to access the workflows that you’ve started, view the workflows you’ve published, update the workflows that you have in process, and create new workflows.

These are the main workspaces in Workflows:

  • List workspace

  • Create new workflow workspace

  • View workflow workspace

  • Editor workspace

Continue reading through this article to learn a little more about each of these workspaces. Otherwise, visit each workspace’s overview article to take a deeper look at the main features available on each workspace.

List workspace

Once you access Workflows, the first workspace that you see is a list view. The Workflows list workspace is where you see all the workflows, or folders of workflows, currently built on your account. Each workflow can be in a different stage of development. Some can be published and actively in use, some can be published but not the version being used, or some can be newly created and not yet published.

Either way, this is where you can search for and open workflows, start the process to create a new workflow, and/or organize your Workflows workspace into folders to make it easier to manage.

Create new workflow workspace

Upon clicking the Create Workflow button, the system displays the Create Workflow form. The Create new workflow workspace is where you start the process for creating a new workflow by completing the Create Workflow form. The workflow that’s created here is a blank workflow. This means you must configure the workflow logic from scratch.

From this workspace, you need to define the type of workflow you’re creating and the title for it. You can change the title at any time once the workflow is created, but you can’t change the type after creating the workflow. After saving the form, the system directs you to the editor workspace, which is where you can start building the logic for the workflow.

If you decide that you don’t want to create a new workflow, you can exit this workspace at any time. Once you exit, the system directs you back to the list workspace.

Editor workspace

After you’ve created a new workflow, the system directs you to the editor. The Workflows editor workspace is where you build the logic for the workflow. If the workflow is new, then you see that the Start module automatically populates for you. All workflows begin with the Start module. From here, you can add the modules you need to continue building out the workflow logic to achieve the outcome you need.

While you’re in the editor workspace, you can click Workflows to return to the list workspace to see all the other workflows on your account.

View workspace

Once you publish a workflow, you can’t make any further changes to it. This means that when you open a published workflow, you only have access to viewing it. So, the Workflows view workspace is where you look over a published workflow.

When in the view workspace, you can open and review module settings and zoom in and out of specific areas of the workflow to take a closer look at certain parts of the workflow. However, you can’t make any changes to the workflow when in the view workspace.

This workspace is where you view the details of the published workflow. From this workspace, you can duplicate the workflow to make a new version, toggle between workflow versions to compare them, or open specific modules to review their configurations. You can’t make changes to the modules or the workflow when looking at a workflow in this way.

While you’re in the view workspace, you can click Workflows to return to the list workspace to see all the other workflows on your account.