Overview: Softphone transfers (Edify App)

Edify App > Softphone > Overview: Softphone transfers (Edify App)

This article explains how to transfer calls made from or received to your softphone in Edify App.

In this article

Overview

There are a few ways of transferring your calls while using the softphone.

You can send the call to another device, like your mobile phone or your desk phone, or you can transfer the call to another person, like a coworker or external phone number, or directly to a coworker’s voicemail.

To transfer a call to another person, use the address book, by entering a specific phone number or enter the colleague’s name into the Number or Contact field.

Transfer a call to a different device

You can continue a softphone call on another device depending on your settings if you need to continue the call elsewhere.

Send your active call to any of these devices to continue the conversation:

  • desk phone(s)

  • mobile device

  • forwarding number.

Before you send the call to your mobile or forwarding number, ensure your mobile phone number is listed in your profile settings and your forwarding number is listed in your call settings.

If you have one or more desk phones provisioned to your user, you can transfer the call to any one of those devices, too.

Once a desk phone is provisioned to your user, they’ll automatically appear in the transfer menu to be ready for you to transfer your softphone call to it.

Visual breakdown for transferring call to device

  • Transfer: The transfer menu (indicated by the right pointing arrow) is where you decide where you’re transferring the phone call. You can transfer the phone call to either a device or another person. Depending on your profile settings, this menu can include one or all of these options.

      • Custom: The custom option is how you start the process for transferring the call to another person. See the next section for more information.

      • Mobile: The Mobile option allows you to transfer the call from your softphone to your mobile phone. Configure a mobile number to the Basic container of your user profile settings.

      • FW Number: The FW Number option allows you to transfer the call from your softphone to your forwarding phone number. Configure a forwarding phone number to the Voice container of your profile’s call settings.

      • Desk phone: The deskphone option (indicated by the device name provisioned to your user) is how you can transfer the call from your softphone to one of your deskphones. Depending on the number of deskphones provisioned to your user, you could have one, none, or several options listed. A deskphone appears in this only after you’ve had a deskphone provisioned to your account.

Transfer a call to a coworker or external number

Once you’re handling a call through the softphone, you can transfer it to another person, like a coworker or an external contact.

To start a transfer to another person, you’ll open the transfer menu (indicated by the right pointing arrow) and select the ‘Custom’.

From here, you’ll then either enter the phone number for the external contact you need or look up the coworker with the address book or by typing information into the Number of Contact field.

After you define who’s receiving your transfer (coworker or external contact), define how you want to process it. You can transfer in these ways:

  • Attended transfer: Speak with your coworker or external contact before sending the caller over to the receiving party to conduct a warm hand off between the caller and the person receiving the transfer.

  • Attended conference transfer: Speak with your coworker and the caller in a three-way conference call to host a conversation between everyone. Once on a conference call with everyone, you can either: cancel the transfer to return to speaking with the caller yourself or send the caller fully over to the receiving party.

  • Blind transfer: Directly send the caller to the receiving party (coworker or external contact) without speaking to the receiving party. This option is best when you don’t need to conduct a hand off. You can’t cancel this type of transfer once it’s started.

  • Voicemail transfer: For internal transfers, you can transfer the caller straight to your coworker’s voicemail box so they can leave your coworker a voicemail message. You can’t cancel this type of transfer once it’s started.

Visual breakdown for transferring to an external contact

  • Number of Contact: The Number of Contact field is where you search for a coworker, dial in an external phone number, or dial an extension. Use this field to search for a coworker by entering their name, title, extension, or status.

  • Add+: The Add+ button (indicated by the person and + icon) starts an attended transfer to the coworker or external phone number. This means that the original party on the other end of the line hears hold music while you and your coworker/external contact talk about the transfer. Once you’ve discussed the situation, complete the transfer by sending the caller to the third party person. You can also cancel this transfer by clicking the Cancel button which stops the transfer process and returns you to talking to the caller yourself.

  • Transfer: The Transfer button (indicated by the checkmark icon) completes a blind transfer to the destination number entered in the transfer to field. This means that you don’t talk to your coworker or external person before completing the transfer. Once you click this button, the transfer can no longer be canceled.

  • Cancel: The Cancel button cancels the transfer process and keeps the call active in your softphone.

Visual breakdown for transferring to a coworker

  • Address book (A): The Address book button (indicated by the planner and person icon) located on the left side of the softphone workspace is where you can search for a specific coworker.

  • Number of Contact (B): The Number of Contact field is where you search for a coworker, dial in an external phone number, or dial an extension. Use this field to search for a coworker by entering their name, title, extension, or status.

  • Cancel: The Cancel button cancels the transfer process and keeps the call active in your softphone.

  • Open Chat (C): The open chat button is where you can open a direct message between you and the selected coworker within the chat workspace to be able to quickly message back and forth without initiating a call transfer.

  • Add+ (D): The Add+ button (indicated by the person and + icon) starts an attended transfer to the coworker or external phone number. This means that the original party on the other end of the line hears hold music while you and your coworker/external contact talk about the transfer. Once you’ve discussed the situation, complete the transfer by sending the caller to the third party person. You can also cancel this transfer by clicking the Cancel button which stops the transfer process and returns you to talking to the caller yourself.

  • Transfer (E): The Transfer button (indicated by the checkmark icon) completes a blind transfer to the destination number entered in the transfer to field. This means that you don’t talk to your coworker or external person before completing the transfer. Once you click this button, the transfer can no longer be canceled.

  • Voicemail transfer (F): The voicemail button (indicated by the Voicemail icon) transfers the call directly to your coworker’s voicemail box. Once you click this button, the transfer can no longer be canceled.